Recognizing the students who make our community great.

Each year, the Division of Student Life recognizes students who go above and beyond to enhance the student experience.

The following students were recognized for 2020-2021:

Encourage Award

This award recognizes a student employee who has demonstrated the unique ability to inspire and motivate others to learn and develop. Nominees for this award promoted self-awareness, collaboration, and personal and professional growth in others, and embody a team-oriented mentality. 

  • Lauren Barbush
  • Kevin Todd
  • Maddy Cromidas
  • Chelsea Riediger (winner)

Innovation Award

This award is given to a student who used creativity to implement a new program, practice or tool this year. Nominees for this award displayed outside the box thinking to enhance the Creighton community.

  • Nick Majetich (winner)
  • Eleanor Yeager
  • Katelyn Sanchez
  • Victoria Kaahaaina
  • Zaire Harris

Partnership Award

This award recognizes a student who has enhanced the student experience through collaborative efforts. Nominees for this award displayed a positive attitude toward others, openness to new ideas, an understanding of the goals of multiple groups and a desire to provide more for our students.

  • Nat Schwartzenberger
  • Cam Halboth
  • Vinay Merchant
  • Blake Zdechlik
  • Tyler Bendrick
  • The Lieben Center for Women (winnners)
    • Abby Slyter
    • Bhavan Chana
    • Abigail Gronau
    • Eve Aspinwall
    • Sydney Westphal
    • Keaomalamalama Liu

Impact Award

This award recognizes a student who has made a significant contribution to multiple departments this year. Nominees for this award displayed depth in their various commitments by leading activities within multiple departments and assisting in building bridges amongst those entities.

  • Brayton Matuska
  • Olivia Lewis
  • Zach Banaszak
  • Andrew Nguyen
  • Mykel Parham (winner)

Leader of Tomorrow

This award recognizes an aspiring student leader just beginning a leadership journey here at Creighton. Nominees for this award are involved in various activities on campus, show the commitment and potential to make an impact in the future and are looked up to by their peers, even though they may lack the title or position to garner such admiration. 

  • Ashley “Nelly” Nelson (winner)
  • Ian McKay
  • Nicole Sipko
  • Rylee Amos
  • Amelia Pike

Leader of Today

This award recognizes a student leader who has recently entered a leadership role and is already making a significant impact, handling adversity and pushing an organization forward. Nominees for this award have embraced change and used it to lead their organizations to a prosperous future.

  • Emmett Hoatson
  • Joe Thibodeau
  • Colby Austin
  • Cierra Kinsey
  • Sena Morimoto (winner)
  • Cole Baer
  • Kahiau Cockett-Nagamine

Leader of Yesterday

This award is given to a senior student who has shown tireless leadership and dedication. Nominees for this award have held at least one executive-level position and have helped shape where their organizations are today, leaving legacies that will be felt even after they’ve graduated. 

  • Caitlin Mills
  • Gabby Lamberty
  • Jillian Brauninger
  • Eva Harwerth
  • Nate Nalbach
  • Gabby Baker
  • Lexi Christiansen (winner)
  • Kiley Nelson
  • Karissa Jacobsen
  • Sarah Peterson